Persistent, Polite and Persuasive

writerlywitterings

This weekend I received a new book in the post. Actually I received three, but only one is relevant for this blog post.

 

I regularly get books posted to me. Sometimes it’s a pain, especially when I’m in the middle of a book myself. Why? Because when I’m sitting at my desk trying to write 5-7,000 words a day, I can’t afford the distraction of another book that will tempt me away from my own work.

 

Disraeli once said “when I want to read a book, I write one”. One thing is certain: when an author is writing, it is absolute death to his art to read another person’s work. I can’t. If I do, my writing takes on that writer’s style. There’s some sort of osmosis that seeps into the keyboard or something.

 

However, I have been persuaded to read The Ravens of Solemano by Eden…

View original post 1,674 more words

Leave a Reply

